ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

New to archives?

| Archives | Places and maps | Timeline |

Family history and genealogy links


Places and maps


Date Event
1063-1136 English/Norman conquest of Wales begins
1267 Llywelyn ap Gruffudd recognised as prince of Wales by Henry III in the treaty of Montgomery
1277-1284 Edward I's conquest of the principality of Wales
1400-1410 Owain Glyn Dŵr's rebellion
1485 Henry Tudor lands at Milford Haven, marches to Bosworth, defeats Richard III and becomes Henry VII
1536 Act of Union unites England and Wales and creates the Welsh counties
1543 Creation of Courts of Quarter Sessions and Court of Great Sessions
1546 The first printed Welsh book: Yny lhyvyr hwnn
1555 Highway Act makes road maintenance a responsibility of parishes
1588 William Morgan publishes the Bible in Welsh
1601 Poor Law Act gives parishes the power to collect rates for welfare purposes; a county rate can be raised to pay for prisons and lunatic asylums
1642-1651 Civil Wars
1748 Ironworks at Dowlais, Merthyr Tydfil
1751 The Honourable Society of the Cymmrodorion is founded
1768 Copper ore mining starts at Parys Mountain
1782 Gilbert's Act allows parishes to form Poor Law Unions
1797 French invasion, Fishguard
1819 First eisteddfod involving the Gorsedd of Bards
1822 St David's College, Lampeter, is founded
1830 Abolition of Court of Great Sessions
1831 Merthyr Tydfil riots
1832 Reform Act extends voting rights
1834 Poor Law Amendment Act creates Poor Law Unions throughout Wales
1835 Municipal Corporations Act reforms borough administration
1837 Civil registration of births, marriages and deaths begins
1838 Highways Act allows parishes to form Highway Boards to maintain roads
1839 Newport Uprising by Chartists
1839-1843 Rebecca Riots protest against turnpike tolls
1848 Public Health Act allows creation of Local Boards of Health in urban centres to deal with highways, drainage and water supply
1853 Burial Act allows parish vestries to establish Burial Boards to create and manage cemeteries
1858 Local Government Act widens coverage of Local Boards of Health and allows them to create Burial Boards
1870 Education Act creates School Boards to set up schools to supplement existing charitable provision
1872 University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, is founded
1872 Public Health Act replaces Boards of Health with comprehensive system of urban sanitary authorities and rural sanitary authorities
1886-1891 Anti-Tithe League leads protests in Tithe War
1888 Local Government (County Councils) Act creates elected county councils and county borough councils, taking over many of the responsibilities of the Courts of Quarter Sessions
1889 Welsh Intermediate Education Act makes counties and county boroughs responsible for intermediate and technical education
1894 Local Government Act creates Urban District Councils and Rural District Councils to replace Sanitary Authorities, and civil parishes to take over civil functions of the parish vestry meetings
1896-1903 Penrhyn Quarry strike/lockout
1902 Education Act gives county councils role as Local Education Authorities, taking over responsibility for Board schools and for secondary education
1907 National Library of Wales and National Museum of Wales founded
1910 Tonypandy Riots during Cambrian Combine miners' strike
1916 David Lloyd George becomes Prime Minister
1919 Ministry of Labour takes over role of Boards of Guardians
1920 Disestablishment of Church of England; creation of Church in Wales
1925 Responsibility for collecting rates passed from Parish Councils to UDCs and RDCs
1926 General Strike
1929 Local Government Act abolishes Poor Law Unions; responsibility for Poor Law administration passes to County Council's Public assistance committees
1948 National Health Service Act creates regional hospital boards to run hospitals and public assistance institutions
1957 Tryweryn Act is passed to create Celyn reservoir to supply water to Liverpool
1964 Creation of Welsh Office and Secretary of State for Wales as Cabinet post
1969 Investiture of Prince of Wales
1971 Courts Act replaces Courts of Quarter Sessions and Petty Sessions with Crown Courts and Magistrates Courts
1974 Local Government Act creates eight new counties covering Wales; replaces UDCs and RDCs with District Councils, and replaces civil parish councils with community councils
1979 Referendum on devolution (79.7% vote No)
1984-1985 Miners' Strike
1994 Closure of Tower Colliery, last deep mine in Wales
1995 Reopening of Tower Colliery after workers' buyout
1996 Counties and District Councils are replaced by twenty-two Unitary Authorities
1997 Referendum on devolution (50.3% vote Yes)
1999 National Assembly for Wales set up