ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

List of repositories  |  List of collections at National Library of Wales  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details

National Library of Wales
Hughes, Cledwyn, manuscripts

Reference code(s): GB 0210 CLEHES

Held at: National Library of Wales

Title: Cledwyn Hughes (Novelist) Manuscripts

Short Title: Hughes, Cledwyn, manuscripts

Creation date(s): [1920 x 1998]

Level of description: Fonds

Extent: 0.658 cubic metres (23 boxes)

Name of creator(s): Cledwyn Hughes


Administrative/Biographical history: Cledwyn Hughes (1920-1978), novelist, was born in Llansanffraid, Montgomeryshire, where his family had farmed for generations. He was a qualified hospital pharmacist, and worked in Yorkshire and Liverpool before settling in Arthog, Merionethshire, in 1947, as a full-time writer. He married Alyna and they had two daughters. He wrote numerous books, among them The Different Drummer (1947), The Inn Closes for Christmas (1947), Wennon (1948) and The Civil Strangers (1949). His topographical books, A Wanderer in North Wales (1949) and Portrait of Snowdonia (1967) were widely acclaimed. He also wrote children's books, including a collection of short stories, The King who Lived on Jelly (1961). He died in Arthog in 1978.


Scope and content/abstract: Manuscripts and typescripts of works by Cledwyn Hughes, [1928]-[1978], including typescript copies, printer's copies, proofs and manuscript holographs, with holograph amendments and additions of his non-fictional books, including: A Wanderer in North Wales (1949), Poaching down the Dee (1953), The Northern Marches (1953), West with the Tinkers. A journey through Wales with vagrants (1954), The House in the Cornfield (1956), Royal Wales (with a revised and curtailed version called History of Wales) (1957), Leonard Cheshire, V.C. (1959), Making an Orchard (1959), Ponies for Children (1960), Portrait of Snowdonia (1967), and The Batsford Colour Book of Wales (1975); his published novels including: The Inn Closes for Christmas (1947), The Different Drummer (1947), The Civil Strangers (1949), After the Holiday (1950) and Gold and the Moonspray (1953); children's stories; short stories; and his unpublished works; together with copies, including a manuscript holograph, of The Golden Mountain, serialized in Woman's Journal; correspondence with publishers, his agent and literary figures, 1938-1968; and certificates awarded to Cledwyn Hughes, 1928-1934. The 2011 donation comprises additional drafts of works, volumes of press cuttings, and correspondence.


Language/scripts of material: English

System of arrangement: Arranged by date of acquisition: the 1972 and 1979 purchases are NLW MSS 20764-9, 20891-4C, 21635-62; the 1983 deposit is arranged under fiction, non-fiction, short stories, other prose items and correspondence; the 1995 donation is arranged under typescript copies of works and miscellaneous; and the 2011 donation is arranged into three series: drafts, press cuttings, and correspondence and miscellaneous papers.

Conditions governing access: Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to sign the 'Modern papers - data protection' form.

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply.

Finding aids: The catalogue can be accessed online. Hard copies of the three catalogues - List of Cledwyn Hughes MSS (1980), Minor Lists and Summaries 1983, pp. 19-23, and Minor Lists and Summaries 1996, p. 25 - are available at the National Library of Wales, excluding the 2011 donation. The 1980 catalogue includes a list of Cledwyn Hughes's literary works compiled by his widow.

Detailed catalogue


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records at the National Library of Wales have been retained.

Accruals: Accruals are not expected.

Archival history:

Immediate source of acquisition: Parts purchased from Cledwyn Hughes, 1972, and his widow, 1979; further items were deposited by his widow, 1983; the remainder donated by Mr John Cutler, Edgbaston, Birmingham, 1995.



Note: Title supplied from content of fonds.

Archivist's note: Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW Project. The following sources were used for the preparation of the description: NLW Schedule of Cledwyn Hughes Manuscripts; Stephens, Meic, Oxford Companion to the Literature of Wales (Oxford, 1986).

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2, and LCSH

Date(s) of descriptions: February 2003 and March 2014

Children's literature
English fiction | Welsh authors | 20th century
English literature | Welsh authors
Hughes, Cledwyn, | 1920- | Manuscripts

Personal names
Hughes , Cledwyn , 1920-

Corporate names


List of repositories  |  List of collections at National Library of Wales  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details