ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

List of repositories  |  List of collections at National Library of Wales  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details

National Library of Wales
Conservative Party (North Wales) papers

Reference code(s): GB 0210 CONLES

Held at: National Library of Wales

Title: Conservative Party (North Wales) Papers

Short Title: Conservative Party (North Wales) papers

Creation date(s): 1953-1992

Level of description: Fonds

Extent: 0.171 cubic metres (17 boxes, 5 posters)

Name of creator(s): Conservative Party (North Wales)


Administrative/Biographical history: The Conservative Party comprised individual branches (constituency associations) under Area Councils forming part of the National Union of Conservative and Unionist Associations, until 1997, when a new structure, based on smaller Areas, was introduced. The Area Council for Wales and Monmouthshire was replaced by five new Areas, including North Wales. D. Elwyn Jones was an agent of the Party between 1971-1979 and became the organizer of the Party in North Wales, through the North Wales European Constituency Conservative Council. The North Wales MEP from 1979-1989 was Ms Beata Brookes for the Conservative Party. The North Wales area covered a number of groups, including Caernarvon Division Conservative and Unionist Association and Conway and Denbigh Constituency Conservative and Unionist Associations.


Scope and content/abstract: Minute books, correspondence and papers, 1953-1992, relating to the Conservative Party in North Wales, including general political papers and circulars, 1971-1989; papers of the North Wales European Election, 1989; news sheets produced by the Brecon and Radnor Conservative Association, 1963-1972; papers relating to the training of constituency agents, 1970-1978; minutes and correspondence of the executive council of the Caernarvon Division of the Conservative and Unionist Association, 1953-1992; papers concerning the Pwllheli Conservative Club, the Association's Annual General Meetings, briefings and reports, 1982-1992; papers including minutes of the executive council and other committees; correspondence, circulars, memoranda, balance sheets of the Conway Constituency Conservative and Unionist Association, 1967-1982; minutes of the Llandudno Junction branch, 1951-1986; records of the Denbigh Constituency Conservative Association, 1974-1982; papers of the National Society of Conservative and Unionist Agents, both the National and Wales and Monmouthshire branches, 1970-1980; and minutes of the North Wales European Constituency Conservative Council, 1978-1989.


Language/scripts of material: English

System of arrangement: Arranged into the following groups: Caernarvon Division; Conway Constituency; Referendum 1979; Denbigh Constituency; General political papers; and North Wales European Election 1989.

Conditions governing access: Records less than 20 years old may not be consulted without the written permission of the donor. Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to sign the 'Modern papers - data protection' form.

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply.

Finding aids: A hard copy of the catalogue is available in Minor Lists and Summaries 1986, p. 176; 1992, p. 190; 1993, p. 63; 1994, p. 102; 1995, p. 60; 1996, p.58, and 1997, p. 15 at the National Library of Wales. The catalogue is available online.

Detailed catalogue


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records deposited at the National Library of Wales have been retained.

Accruals: Accruals are possible

Archival history:

Immediate source of acquisition: Deposited by the Conservative Party per Mr D. Elwyn Jones, Deganwy, Conwy, 1985-1997.



Note: Title supplied from contents of fonds

Archivist's note: Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: NLW, Minor Lists and Summaries 1986/1992-1996; Conservative Party archive website (, viewed 4 November 2003; Jones, Beti, Etholiadau'r Ganrif Welsh Elections, 1850-1997 (Talybont, 1999).

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2 and LCSH.

Date(s) of descriptions: April 2003; revised May 2005

Conservative Party (Great Britain) | Archives
Election districts | Wales | Caernarfon
Election districts | Wales | Denbigh
Election districts | Wales, North
Political parties | Wales | Denbighshire
Political parties | Wales | Gwynedd

Personal names
Jones , D. Elwyn (David Elwyn) , 1945-2003

Corporate names
Caernarvon Conservative and Unionist Association
Conservative Party (Great Britain) | National Society of Conservative and Unionist Agents
Conservative Party (Great Britain) | North Wales European Constituency Conservative Council
Conway Constituency Conservative and Unionist Association
Denbigh Division Conservative Association
Llandudno Junction Conservative and Unionist Association

Caernarfon (Wales)
Caernarvonshire (Wales)
Conwy (Wales)
Denbigh (Wales)
Denbighshire (Wales)
Wales, North ()

List of repositories  |  List of collections at National Library of Wales  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details