ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

List of repositories  |  List of collections at National Library of Wales  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details

National Library of Wales
The Ty Cerdd Archive

Reference code(s): GB 0210 WMIC

Held at: National Library of Wales

Title: The Ty Cerdd Archive

Short Title: The Ty Cerdd Archive

Creation date(s): 1893-[1999]

Level of description: Fonds

Extent: 77 boxes, varying sizes

Name of creator(s):


Administrative/Biographical history: The Welsh Music Information Centre (WMIC) was established in September 1983 to provide information about Welsh music, particularly 20th century music and to encourage performances of contemporary works. It incorporated the Welsh Music Archive which was founded in 1976 and was similar to the Scottish Music Information Centre in Glasgow and the British Information Centre in London with a role of collecting scores by Welsh composers. It received the support of the Welsh Arts Council. An exhibition of scores and memorabilia housed at WMIC was held at the Viriamu Jones Gallery, University College, Cardiff, March 1984. The centre closed in March 1997 after the Arts Council withdrew its funding in December 1996. Tŷ Cerdd - Music Centre Wales was formed by combining the Welsh Amateur Music Federation (WAMF) and WMIC in 2009. Its role is to promote all genres of Welsh Music by "bringing a world of music to Wales and the music of Wales to the world".


Scope and content/abstract: Music manuscripts and miscellaneous papers, 1893-[1999], transferred on the closure of the Welsh Music Information Centre, Cardiff, comprising a large number of music scores and sketches. Among the composers represented in the archive are Robert Bruce, Dilys Elwyn Edwards, John Edwards, J. R. Heath, Alun Hoddinott, Arwel Hughes, Idris Lewis and Ian Parrott.


Language/scripts of material: Mainly English, unless otherwise stated.

System of arrangement: Arranged at NLW in three groups: works by composers (several scores), works by composers (occasional scores) and other papers.

Conditions governing access: Readers consulting modern papers in the National Library of Wales are required to abide by the conditions set out in information provided when applying for their Readers' Tickets, whereby the reader shall become responsible for compliance with the Data Protection Act 1998 in relation to any processing by them of personal data obtained from modern records held at the Library.

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply.

Finding aids:


Accruals: Accruals are possible

Archival history:

Immediate source of acquisition: Deposited by Welsh Music Information Centre per Mr D. Wynne Lloyd, Cardiff, 1997.


Related material: Audio tapes, video cassettes and records have been transferred to the NLW National Sound and Screen Archive of Wales, and photographs to the NLW photographic collection.


Note: Formerly Welsh Music Information Centre (WMIC) manuscripts and papers. The circumflex has been removed from 'Tŷ' in the title field (The Tŷ Cerdd Archive) as the Archives Wales computer system is unable to recognize it.

Archivist's note: Compiled by Ann Francis Evans. The following sources were used to compile this description: Music Wales, 1 June-31 August 1997; Welsh Music Information Centre publicity leaflet; a booklet for an exhibition of the Welsh Music Information Centre at the University College Cardiff, 1984; and Tŷ Cerdd website.

Rules or conventions: Description follows NLW guidelines based on ISAD(G) 2nd ed.; AACR2; and LCSH.

Date(s) of descriptions: April 2014.

Composers | Wales | Manuscripts
Musicians | Wales

Personal names

Corporate names
Tŷ Cerdd | Tŷ Cerdd
Welsh Music Information Centre


List of repositories  |  List of collections at National Library of Wales  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details