ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

List of repositories  |  List of collections at Pembrokeshire Record Office  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details

Pembrokeshire Record Office
Pembrokeshire election campaign literature

Reference code(s): GB 0213 D/ELECTION

Held at: Pembrokeshire Record Office

Title: Election Party Records

Short Title: Pembrokeshire election campaign literature

Creation date(s): 1979-1992

Level of description: Fonds

Extent: (Information to be supplied)

Name of creator(s): Pembrokeshire Conservative Association; Labour Party, Wales; Plaid Cymru; Liberal Democrats


Administrative/Biographical history: The parliamentary constituency of Pembrokeshire was held by Nicholas Edwards of the Conservative Party 1970 until 1987, when Nicholas Bennett, also of the Conservative Party, replaced him. Other candidates in the 1987 General Election were Bryan Rayner (Labour Party), Patrick Jones (Liberal/ Social Democratic Party Alliance) and Ozi Osmond (Plaid Cymru). In the 1992 election, Nicholas Bennett again represented the Conservative Party; his opponents were Nick Ainger (Labour Party), Peter Sain Ley Berry (Liberal Democrats), Conrad Bryant (Plaid Cymru), Mike Stoddart (Anti-Federalists), and Roger Coghill (Green Party). In the 1979 European elections, Ann Clwyd won the Mid and West Wales seat (covering Pembrokeshire) for the Labour Party. In the 1984 elections David Morris held the seat for Labour. The candidates produced a variety of printed literature in the course of the campaigns.


Scope and content/abstract: Printed material relating to elections in Pembrokeshire, 1979-1992, including publicity material for general elections, 1979-1992, and the Referendum on a Welsh Assembly, 1979; and European election leaflets, 1979-1984.


Language/scripts of material: English, Welsh

System of arrangement: Arranged into the following: General Election 1987; General Election 1992; Welsh Assembly Referendum 1979; General Election 1979; European Elections, 1979; General Election, 1983; European Election, 1984.

Conditions governing access: No restrictions

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply.

Finding aids: A hard copy is available in Pembrokeshire Record Office.


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records deposited at Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.

Accruals: Accruals are possible

Archival history:

Immediate source of acquisition: The 1987 election material was deposited 1988; 1992 election material deposited 1993; 1979 and 1983 election material deposited by Mr Michael Freeman, per Ceredigion County Archivist, 1997.



Note: Title supplied from contents of fonds

Archivist's note: Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Election Party Records, catalogue; Jones, Beti, Etholiadau'r ganrif, 1885-1997/Welsh elections, 1885-1997 (Talybont: Y Lolfa, 1999).

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2, and LCSH

Date(s) of descriptions: June 2005

Elections | Wales | Pembrokeshire
European Parliament | Elections, 1979
European Parliament | Elections, 1984
Great Britain. | Parliament | Elections, 1979
Great Britain. | Parliament | Elections, 1983
Great Britain. | Parliament | Elections, 1987
Great Britain. | Parliament | Elections, 1992
Referendum | Wales | 1979

Personal names

Corporate names
Labour Party Wales
Liberal Democrats (Great Britain)
Pembrokeshire Conservative Association
Plaid Cymru

Pembrokeshire (Wales)

List of repositories  |  List of collections at Pembrokeshire Record Office  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details