ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

List of repositories  |  List of collections at Pembrokeshire Record Office  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details

Pembrokeshire Record Office
Pembrokeshire School Management Committees papers and school plans

Reference code(s): GB 0213 SSM/1&2; TSE/1-

Held at: Pembrokeshire Record Office

Title: School Management Committees Papers and Ministry of Education Sealed School Plans

Short Title: Pembrokeshire School Management Committees papers and school plans

Creation date(s): 1808-1978

Level of description: Fonds


Name of creator(s): Pembrokeshire Education Authority


Administrative/Biographical history: Under the Education Act 1902, County Councils became Local Education Authorities, taking over the responsibilities of the School Boards which had previously administered school provision funded by the rates. Board Schools then became known as Council or County Primary Schools. The Education Committees of county councils were made responsible for elementary and intermediate schools and the Authority administrated the schools and maintained their records. Before the Education Act 1870, school provision relied on charities, notably National Schools, which had originally been established by the National Society to teach an Anglican education, and British Schools, established by the British & Foreign Society to teach non-sectarian education. These schools became Voluntary Controlled or Voluntary Schools and Church or Church of England Schools respectively when they came under the control of the Council. The 1870 Act supplemented these existing schools through a network of Board schools. The Welsh Intermediate Education Act 1889 established county joint education committees, which created county schools (later grammar schools) to provide intermediate (or secondary) education. Individual schools were administered by a Management Committee; schools in the county were assigned to United Districts, later Groups, by locality. Prior to the Education Act 1870, central government funding was available to assist in the construction of new schools; plans for the buildings were submitted for approval (approved plans were marked by a seal); in due course the plans came into the possession of the Ministry of Education, and transferred to the Public Records Office.


Scope and content/abstract: School boards and managers minute books, 1847-1974; minutes of County Primary Schools Management Committees, 1975-1978; Broad Haven, Camrose North and Roch files, 1910-1974; Rudaxton National Primary School minutes and correspondence, 1876-1966; Llanddewi Velfrey National Primary School, 1871-1974; Dinas and Newport Group 17 Council schools minutes, 1899-1973; Llanychlwydog, Nevern and Llwynihirion Group 16 Council managers' minutes, 1941-1974; minute books of Llanfyrnach and Eglwys-fair-a-churig United District school board, 1878-1904, and Group 11 council schools, 1910-1917; Clydey School Board general accounts, 1874-1891; Rev. M.G.R. Morris, managerial correspondence regarding the Llanddewi Velfrey V.C. School, 1974-1988; Nolton School records, 1806-1973; Roch School records, 1850-1969; Milford Haven Primary Schools Management Committee attendance book, 1942-1958; minute books of the Manordeifi Upper School managers, 1904-1933; Hubberston Voluntary/National School managers, 1932-1973; St. Dogmaels British/Council School, 1808-1974; Fishguard Hamilton Street Voluntary/Board School, 1885-1894; Voluntary Controlled Primary Schools Management Committees, 1975-1978; and Ministry of Education school plans, 1841-1972.


Language/scripts of material: English

System of arrangement: Arranged into the following: alphabetical list of school boards and managers; minutes of County Primary Schools Management Committees; numerical lists of school boards and managers; Broad Haven, Camrose North and Roch; Rudaxton National Primary School; Llanddewi Velfrey National Primary School; Group 17 and 16; Llanfyrnach and Eglwys-fair-a-churig United District School Board; Clydey School Board; Rev. M.G.R. Morris; Nolton School; Roch School; Milford Haven Primary Schools Management Committee; Manordeifi Upper School; Hubberston Voluntary/National School; St. Dogmaels British/Council School; Fishguard Hamilton Street Voluntary/Board School; Voluntary Controlled Primary Schools Management Committees; and Ministry of Education Sealed School Plans.

Conditions governing access: No restrictions.

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright laws apply.

Finding aids: A hard copy is available in Pembrokeshire Record Office


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records deposited at Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.

Accruals: Accruals are possible.

Archival history: Minutes of County Primary Schools Management Committees were received from County Architect on 25th July 1978; Clydey School Board general accounts were transferred from the National Library of Wales, perCardiganshire Record Office, 1987. Ministry of Education sealed school plans were presented by the Public Record Office under the Public Records Act, 1958, on 4th October 1965.

Immediate source of acquisition: Received between 1965 and 1999


Related material: Further records see Pembrokeshire Record Office, Education/Pembrokeshire County Council, catalogue, GB 0213 PCC/ED; Pembrokeshire Record Office, School file and Pembrokeshire Record Office, DYC/ED; Pembrokeshire Record Office, Primary school records, SSR


Note: Title from contents of fonds.

Archivist's note: Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, School Management Committees Papers (SSM 1&2) and Ministry of Education Sealed School Plans (TSE 1-)

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) second edition, AACR2, and LCSH

Date(s) of descriptions: July 2005

Clydey School Board (Clydau, Wales) | Archives
Education | Wales | Pembrokeshire
Education, Primary | Wales | Pembrokeshire
Education, Secondary | Wales | Pembrokeshire
Llanddewi Velfrey Voluntary School | Archives
School boards | Wales | Pembrokeshire
Schools | Wales | Pembrokeshire | Administration
Schools | Wales | Pembrokeshire | Design and plans

Personal names
Morris , M. G. R. (M. Geoffrey R.) , 1941-

Corporate names
Broad Haven C.P. School
Clydey School Board
Fishguard Voluntary School
Great Britain | Ministry of Education
Hubberston Voluntary School (Hubberston, Wales)
Llanddewi Velfrey National Primary School
Llanddewi Velfrey Voluntary School
Llanfyrnach and Eglwys Fair a Churig United District School Board
Manordeifi Upper Voluntary Controlled Primary School
Milford Haven Primary School
Nolton Voluntary School (Nolton, Wales)
Roch Voluntary School (Roch, Wales)
Rudbaxton V. C. School (Rudbaxton, Wales)
St Dogmaels British School

Broad Haven (Wales)
Camrose (Wales)
Clydau (Wales)
Eglwys Fair a Churig (Wales)
Fishguard (Wales)
Haverfordwest (Wales)
Hubberston (Wales)
Lampeter Velfrey (Wales)
Llanddewi Velfrey (Wales)
Llanfyrnach (Wales)
Llanychlwydog (Wales)
Manordeifi (Wales)
Milford Haven (Wales)
Narberth (Wales)
Nevern (Wales)
Newport (Pembrokeshire, Wales)
Nolton (Wales)
Pembroke (Wales : town)
Roch (Wales)
Rudbaxton (Wales)
St Davids (Wales)
St Dogmaels (Wales)
Tenby (Wales)

List of repositories  |  List of collections at Pembrokeshire Record Office  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details