ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

List of repositories  |  List of collections at Bangor University  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details

Bangor University
Caernarfonshire Electoral Papers

Reference code(s): GB 0222 BMSS EPC

Held at: Bangor University

Title: Caernarfonshire Electoral Papers

Short Title: Caernarfonshire Electoral Papers

Creation date(s): 1852-1895

Level of description: fonds

Extent: 8 boxes

Name of creator(s): Various sources


Administrative/Biographical history: Borough and general elections were held in Caernarfonshire, north Wales between 1852 and 1895. William Rathbone (1819-1902), philanthropist, merchant and radical politician was Member of Parliament for Caernarfonshire from 1880 to 1885 and for the Arfon Division 1885-1895. He retired as M.P. in 1895. Sir Thomas Love Duncombe Jones-Parry (1832-1891) of Madryn was Liberal M.P. for the Caernarfon Boroughs from 1882-1886 and the defeated candidate in 1886.


Scope and content/abstract: Caernarfonshire electoral papers, 1852-1895 including: Claims and objections relating to insertion in list of voters, 1852-1895 Letters to the Liberal agent relating to registration of voters, 1883-1895 Political letters, 1880-1895, relating in particular to the Liberal Party candidates. Includes letters to Mr. R.D. Williams of Porth yr Aur from Sir Thomas Love Jones-Parry and from Mr. W.A. Darbyshire of Nantlle, etc; letters to and from William Rathbone, M.P.


Language/scripts of material:

System of arrangement: Material is arranged in chronological order and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts .

Conditions governing access: Open to all users

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Finding aids: Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 1114-1125

Language codes: eng


Archival history:

Immediate source of acquisition:


Related material: Also held at the Archives Department of the University of Wales, Bangor are the North Wales Election Papers and Florence Nightingale Letters , the latter containing letters from Florence Nightingale to William Rathbone. Collection level descriptions are available on the Archives Hub .


Note: Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, August 2002.

Rules or conventions: Created following ISAD(G) and Archives Hub Data Creation Guidelines

Date(s) of descriptions: Prior to 16-11-2004

Caernarvonshire (Wales) | Politics and government
Elections | Wales | Caernarvonshire | 19th century
Elections | Wales | Gwynedd
Electoral registration | Wales | Gwynedd | 19th century

Personal names
Darbyshire , W. A.
Jones-Parry , Thomas Love Duncombe , 1832-1891 , Sir
Rathbone , William , 1819-1902
Williams , R. D. , of Porth yr Aur

Corporate names
Liberal Party (Great Britain)


List of repositories  |  List of collections at Bangor University  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details