ANW logo

Archives Network Wales

Search the collections:        Search help | Advanced search   | Browse by repository

Browse the indices: Combined(searchable) Personal names Corporate names Places Subjects



[New to Archives?]

[Family history]

[Admin menu]

List of repositories  |  List of collections at Conwy Archive Service  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details

Conwy Archive Service
Conwy Schools (Ysgolion Conwy) records

Reference code(s): GB 2008 CE and CP98

Held at: Conwy Archive Service

Title: Ysgolion Conwy/ Conwy Schools Records

Short Title: Conwy Schools (Ysgolion Conwy) records

Creation date(s): 1838-1998

Level of description: Fonds

Extent: 3.1 cubic metres (99 boxes, 43 vols)

Name of creator(s): Ysgolion Conwy/ Conwy Schools


Administrative/Biographical history: Conwy County Borough Council (created 1996) took over responsibility for education provision within its boundaries, previously the responsibility of Gwynedd County Council and Clwyd County Council (since 1974). These councils had in turn taken over from Caernarfonshire and Denbighshire County Councils. Prior to the Local Government Act 1894, educational provision had grown up piecemeal, with the earliest schools being set up by the Church of England and other churches and charities (the British Schools and National Schools) from the 1840s. The Education Act 1874 led to the creation of local School Boards which could raise a rate to provide schools where needed. The County Councils gradually took over the running of many of these schools (renaming them as Council schools in the process), and created new ones as required. The school records typically comprise log books, attendance registers, and Local Management Committee minutes and papers. The earliest schools were church schools: Glanllugwy Undenominational School for Girls (1871) and Betws-y-Coed Boys' (church) School (1875); National Schools: Capel Curig school, by 1903; and later supplemented by Board Schools: Llandrillo Llwydgoed Board School (1881; later Bryn y Maen County Primary School).


Scope and content/abstract: Records of school within Conwy CBC, including Betws Y Coed Council Primary School, 1871-1974; Bryn Pydew Council Junior School, 1921-1944 and [1960s]; Bryn Y Maen, Llwydgoed, C.P. School, 1930-1996; Capel Curig Council School, 1904-1977; Capel Garmon Council School, 1894-[1945]; Conway National Schools, 1863-1996; Ysgol Aberconwy, Conwy, 1926-1982; Cwm Penmachno National School, 1870-1964; Deganwy Council School, 1897-1980; Dolgarrog Council School, 1925-1986; Dolwyddelan: Blaenau Council School, 1917-1948; Dolwyddelan: Cyfyng Council School, 1900-1958; Dwygyfylchi: National School, 1885-1938; Dwgyfylchi: Pendyffryn British School, 1881-1943; Gyffin National School, 1904-1997; Henryd: Llangelynnin and Gyffin National School, 1844-1943; Llanddoged N. P. School, 1874-1977; Llandudno: Central School, 1912-1918; Llandudno: Craig y Don Board School, 1897-1944; Llandudno: Dyffryn Road Council School, 1905-1975; Llandudno: Lloyd Street School, 1873-1945; Llandudno: St George's National School, 1863-1994, with photographs, 1936-1969 and [1980s]; Llandudno: Ysgol John Bright, 1893-1981; Llanfairfechan: National School, 1872-1940; Llanfairfechan: Caersalem Council School, 1864-1963; Llangwstenin: Glanwydden Council School, 1877-1997; Llangwstenin: National School, 1877-1951; Maenan Council School, 1875-1987; Mochdre County Primary School, 1968-1990; Penmachno National School, 1884-1921; Penmachno Council School, 1908-1979; Penmaenmawr: Dwygyfylchi National School, 1864-1998; Rowen British School, 1864-1954; Talybont Board School, 1877-1940; Trefriw: National School, 1866-1953; Trefriw: Nantbwlchyrhaiarn Council School, 1908-1964; and Ysbyty Ifan School, 1924-1928.


Language/scripts of material: English, Welsh

System of arrangement: Arranged by school, subdivided into: school's internal records, and records of the local management committee.

Conditions governing access: Closed for 40 years

Conditions governing reproduction: Usual copyright regulations apply.

Finding aids: Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Conwy Archive Service.


Appraisal, destruction and scheduling information: All records have been retained.

Accruals: Accruals are likely

Archival history: Pre-1996, school records deposited at Gwynedd Archive Service.

Immediate source of acquisition: Deposited by individual schools. Those deposited with Gwynedd Archive Service prior to 1996 were transferred in 2000.



Note: Title supplied from contents of fonds

Archivist's note: Compiled by Martin Locock and Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Conwy Archive Service, Ysgolion Conwy/Conwy Schools, 2001.

Rules or conventions: This description follows ANW guidelines based on ISAD(G) Second Edition; AACR2 and LCSH.

Date(s) of descriptions: December 2003

School boards | Wales | Conwy

Personal names

Corporate names
Betws y Coed Council Primary School
Blaenau Council School
Bryn Pydew Council Junior School
Bryn Y Maen, Llwydgoed C. P. School
Caersalem Council School (Llanfairfechan, Wales)
Capel Curig Council School
Capel Garmon Council School
Conway National School
Craig Y Don Board School
Cwm Penmachno National School
Cyfyng Council School
Deganwy Council School
Dolgarrog Council School
Dwygyfylchi National School
Dyffryn Road Council School
Glanwydden Council School
Gyffin National School
Llanddoged NP School (Denbighshire, Wales)
Llandudno Central School
Llanfairfechan National School (Llanfairfechan, Wales)
Llangelynnin and Gyffin National School (Henryd, Gwynedd, Wales)
Llangwstenin National School (Llangwstenin, Wales)
Lloyd Street School (Llandudno, Wales)
Maenan Council School
Mochdre Infants' County Primary School
Nantbwlchrhaiarn Council (and Evening) School (Trefriw, Wales)
Pendyffryn British School (Dwygyfylchi, Wales)
Penmachno (Wales) National School
Penmachno Council School
Penmaenmawr (Dwygyfylchi) National School (Dwygyfylchi, Wales)
Rowen British School
St George's National School (Llandudno, Wales)
Talybont Board School (Conwy, Wales)
Trefriw National School
Ysgol Aberconwy (School)
Ysgol John Bright (School)

Betws-y-coed (Wales)
Bryn Pydew (Wales)
Bryn-y-maen (Wales)
Capel Curig (Wales)
Capel Garmon (Wales)
Conwy (Wales)
Cwm Penmachno (Wales)
Deganwy (Wales)
Dolgarrog (Wales)
Dolwyddelan (Wales)
Dwygyfylchi (Wales)
Gyffin (Wales)
Henryd (Conwy, Wales)
Llanddoged (Wales)
Llandudno (Wales)
Llanfairfechan (Wales)
Maenan (Wales)
Mochdre (Conwy, Wales)
Penmachno (Wales)
Penmaenmawr (Wales)
Rowen (Caerhun, Wales)
Tal-y-bont (Conwy, Wales)
Trefriw (Wales)

List of repositories  |  List of collections at Conwy Archive Service  |  Repository home page  |  Contact details